Events calendar

  • March
  • May
  • Sunday
  • Monday
  • Tuesday
  • Wednesday
  • Thursday
  • Friday
  • Saturday
  • Saturday, April 1
  • Sunday, April 2
  • Monday, April 3
  • Tuesday, April 4
  • Wednesday, April 5
  • Thursday, April 6
  • Friday, April 7
  • Saturday, April 8
  • Sunday, April 9
  • Monday, April 10
  • Tuesday, April 11
  • Wednesday, April 12
  • Thursday, April 13
  • Friday, April 14
  • Saturday, April 15
  • Sunday, April 16
  • Monday, April 17
  • Tuesday, April 18
  • Wednesday, April 19
  • Thursday, April 20
  • Friday, April 21
  • Saturday, April 22
  • Sunday, April 23
  • Monday, April 24
  • Tuesday, April 25
  • Wednesday, April 26
  • Thursday, April 27
  • Friday, April 28
  • Saturday, April 29
  • Sunday, April 30

Did You Know:

  • Most trees do not have a tap root.

  • Most tree roots are in the top 12 inches of soil.

  • Trees properly placed around buildings can reduce air conditioning needs by 30 percent and save 20-50 percent in heating energy.

  • Every state has an official State Tree. Virginia adopted the flowering dogwood Cornaceae Cornus florida as the State Tree on February 24, 1956.  The dogwood is well distributed throughout the...

  • A birdhouse hung on a young tree branch, does not move up the tree as the tree grows.

  • In one day, one large tree can lift up to 100 gallons of water out of the ground and discharge it into the air.

  • One large tree can provide a supply of oxygen for two people.

  • Trees are the largest living organisms on earth: some coastal redwoods are more than 360 feet tall.

  • A mature tree removes almost 70 times more pollution than a newly planted tree.

  • Well-maintained trees and shrubs can increase property value by up to 14%.

  • Trees are some of the oldest living organisms on earth: some bristle-cone pines are thought to be more than 5000 years old.

Contact Trees Virginia

(434) 295 6401

900 Natural Resources Drive, Ste 800
Charlottesville, VA 22903

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Upcoming Events

May 17, 2017 Board of Directors Conference Call
05-17-2017 9:00 am
Category:  Free
May 19, 2017 NOVA Roundtable
05-19-2017 9:30 am
Category:  Roundtables

Our Partners

American Grove     Virginia Department of Forestry     Mid-Atlantic Chapter International Society of Arboriculture